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DISCLAIMER

The views and opinions expressed in the written materials and in any of the

presentations at this conference are those of the presenter and do not necessarily

reflect the official policy or position of the Department of Business and Industry,

Division of Industrial Relations. The Division does not warranty the materials’

completeness or accuracy.



NAME OR LOGO

Impact of 2019 Legislative Session

Reporting

Workplace violence 
reporting requirements 

for the healthcare 
industry

Training

New OSHA training 
requirements for 

convention and trade 
show workers

Tracking

Registration of outreach 
trainers, and reporting of 

persons attending 
training

Penalties

Increased penalties for 
violations of safety and 

health regulations

Process

Extended time period to 
contest safety and health 

citations
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NAME OR LOGO

AB 348

Addressing workplace violence issues in the 
healthcare industry

Plan

Requires employers to 
develop workplace 
violence prevention 

programs

Control

Employers must 
implement controls to 
predictable workplace 

violence hazards

Report

Certain employers in 
the healthcare 

industry must report 
annually to DIR
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Workplace violence prevention plan

Employer 
Requirements

Covered employers must develop a 
workplace violence prevention plan

○ Reviewed annually

○ Worker involvement in review process

○ Incorporate appropriate hazard controls

○ Requires worker training
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Reporting requirements

Annual Reporting

Covered employers must provide OSHA 
with a copy of their annual 300 log 
summary

Must also report:

○ Incidents of physical violence by a patient or 
people with a patient

○ Incidents involving the use of a firearm or 
other dangerous weapon

○ Any situation that presents a realistic possibility 

of death or serious physical harm to an 

employee or other provider of care
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SB119

Requiring mandatory OSHA 10 and 30 hour 
training for workers in the convention and trade 
show industries

Supervisors

30 Hour Training 

Labor

10 Hour Training

Trainers

Transparency
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Training Requirements

Convention and Trade 
Show Industry

Requirements:

○ Construction OR General Industry courses are 
acceptable to meet the requirements of the 
statute 

○ Applies to construction, installation, 
maintenance, operation, repair or removal of 
trade show or exhibition displays 

○ Supervisors are defined in section 6 of the bill

○ Supervisors and workers must present 

evidence of course completion to employer no 

later than 15 days after being hired, or 

employer must suspend or terminate the 

employee

○ Trainers must display trainer authorization at 

the location of the course
NVOSHA 2019 WCS CONFERENCE



NAME OR LOGO

AB290

Implementing reporting, registration and 
tracking requirements for OSHA safety training in 
Nevada

Registration

10 and 30 Hour 
Training 
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Online Registry

Trainers and Card 
Holders

Requirements:

○ Nevada OSHA is required to create a registry 
to track construction industry workers and 
supervisors who have successfully completed 
10/30 hour training 

○ OSHA is also required to track authorized 
trainers 

○ Trainers must submit names of people who 
completed their classes

○ Names of 10/30 hour card holders and 
authorized trainers will be available online

○ Effective January 1, 2020
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SB40

Increasing penalties for safety and health 
violations and adjusting the contested case 
process for violations

Penalties

Increasing to match 
federal penalty 

structure
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OSHA Penalties Effective October 1, 2019

Type of Violation Old Maximum Penalty New Maximum Penalty

Serious

Other-Than-Serious

Posting Requirements

$7,000 per violation $13,260 per violation

Failure to Abate $7,000 per day beyond the 
abatement date

$13,260 per day beyond the 
abatement date

Willful or Repeated $70,000 per violation $132,598 per violation
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OSHA Penalties Effective October 1, 2019

Additional Information

Requirements:

○ Penalty amounts will be adjusted in 
accordance with changes to the consumer 
price index

○ Penalties will be adjusted annually, not later 
than January 15

○ Nevada OSHA will continue to follow existing 
procedures for applying adjustment factors, 
such as size, history, and good faith in 
accordance with current state policies

○ Time period to notify agency of intent to 
contest citations changes from 15 working 
days to 30 calendar days
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Don’t Forget . . . 

14

Please fill out the Evaluation Online:
http://dir.nv.gov/WCS/Training/

For complimentary Wi-Fi select the Tuscany Conventions 

 Session 4B Nevada Workplace Safety Regulatory Update


